Waukegan Park District Awards Academic Scholarships to Local Students

Jun 13
Tuesday, June 13th 2023

Waukegan, Illinois (June 13, 2023) – With the goal of investing in future leaders, the Waukegan Park District awarded $1,000 scholarships to each of five local students who have demonstrated exceptional academic achievements and community service. The Waukegan Park District Memorial Endowment Fund Scholarship recipients for 2023 are: Sofia Aguilar, Tytiana Davis, Daniela Rios, Eileen Rodriguez, and John Venisnik.

Scholarship recipients were selected following an application review process and are required to be a resident of the Waukegan Park District, a student enrolled at a college, university, or trade school, and pursuing a field related to parks and recreation.

The scholarship recipients will attend the following colleges and universities:

  • Sofia Aguilar, Smith College
  • Tytiana Davis, Texas Southern University
  • Daniela Rios, DePaul University
  • Eileen Rodriguez, Hope College
  • John Venisnik, College of Lake County

Jeremiah Johnson, President of the Waukegan Park District Board of Commissioners, stated, “The Waukegan Park District is committed to developing leaders by supporting the academic endeavors of local students. This year’s scholarship recipients excelled in the classroom and made a difference in the community. We are proud of their accomplishments.”

Jay Lerner, Executive Director of the Waukegan Park District, noted, “The Waukegan Park District Memorial Endowment Fund Scholarships were created to recognize students who have accomplished outstanding achievements in their academic journey. From impressive academic records to community achievements, Sofia, Tytiana, Daniela, Eileen, and John have reason to be proud. Congratulations to them all!”

The Waukegan Park District Memorial Endowment Fund Scholarship is funded by private donations. More information is available at waukeganparks.org/scholarship.

About the Waukegan Park District

Established on December 26, 1916, the Waukegan Park District (WPD) has 53 properties and more than 742 acres of land, including the 18-hole Bonnie Brook and 9-hole Greenshire Golf Courses. Properties are managed to the highest environmental and conservation standards. Facilities operated by the WPD include the Field House Sports, Fitness and Aquatics Center, Waukegan’s Greg Petry SportsPark, Waukegan Skate Park, BMX Track, SplashZone, Percussion Playground, recreational centers, disc golf course, dog exercise area and agility course, outdoor sports fields, picnic areas, playgrounds, splash pads, and sports courts including basketball, tennis and pickleball. A full range of programs and services are offered year-round for all ages, from infants to seniors, as well as special need populations. Healthy lifestyles, wellness initiatives, and a connection with the outdoors and nature are integrated throughout programs, services, and special events. Arts and cultural activities are provided by the Jack Benny Center for the Arts, Waukegan Symphony Orchestra and Concert Chorus, and the Waukegan History Museum. We offer something for everyone!

A member of the National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA), Illinois Association of Park Districts (IAPD), Illinois Park and Recreation Association (IPRA), and the Park District Risk Management Agency (PDRMA), the WPD employs 73 full-time and 219 part-time, seasonal, and temporary employees and is recognized by the IPRA as an Exceptional Workplace.

Nationally accredited by the NRPA Commission for Accreditation of Park and Recreation Agencies (CAPRA) and State accredited through the IAPD Distinguished Agency Accreditation, the WPD has received the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) Triple Crown Award for receiving the GFOA’s Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting, Popular Annual Financial Reporting Award, and the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award. The WPD was awarded the NRPA National Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Park and Recreation Management in 2013, and was named a Gold Medal Finalist in 2012, 2013, 2019, 2021, 2022, and 2023.

Media Contact
Josue Pasillas, MPA
Communications Supervisor
Waukegan Park District
(847) 360-4789