The Waukegan Park District is supporting the academic endeavors of local students with five (5) $1,000 scholarships!

Applicants will be considered based on their academic achievements and community service. To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must:

  • live within the boundaries of the Waukegan Park District.
  • be a student attending a college, university, or trade school in the fall of 2024.
  • be a student pursuing a park and recreation related academic field or trade, including, but not limited to, accounting, business, carpentry, communications, electricity, environmental science, exercise sports science, forestry, graphic design, horticulture, human resources, landscape architecture, marketing, mechanics, occupational safety, therapeutic recreation, or tourism development and management.

Applications must include:

  • an academic transcript from the most recent educational institution attended.
  • a resume with work and/or volunteer experiences.
  • a personal essay with a maximum of 500 words about experiences with parks and recreation and aspirations to use education to benefit the community.
  • a signed letter of recommendation from an individual (teacher, professor, counselor, supervisor, etc.) who is familiar with the future goals and aptitude of the applicant.

For more information, contact Josue Pasillas at or (847) 360-4789.

2023 Scholarship Recipients
The 2023 scholarship recipients are: Sofia Aguilar, Tytiana Davis, Daniela Rios, Eileen Rodriguez, John Venisnik.
2022 Scholarship Recipients
The 2022 scholarship recipients are: Jacqueline Cruz, Juan Guerrero, Julien Lopez, Denise Perez, and Serafin Valencia.

2021 Scholarship Recipients*

Kathy Colin
University of Richmond
Briana Lopez
College of Lake County
Nancy Miranda
University of Pennsylvania

*Not Pictured: Alexis Valdovinos, Case Western Reserve University, and Erica Espinoza, Connecticut College.

2020 Scholarship Recipients

2020 Scholarship Recipients
Second Class of Scholars
Katherine Flesher
Clark University
Nyah Brown
Augustana College
Eduardo Flores
College of Lake County
Kathy Colin
University of Richmond
Amari Patterson
Howard University

2019 Scholarship Recipients

2019 Scholarship Recipients
Inaugural Class
Luis Steven Garcia-Gonzalez
College of Lake County
Adrian Ayala
University of Wisconsin – Parkside
Xitlali Ramirez
Duke University
Lupe Bueno
Coe College
Kelvin Trejo
Northeastern Illinois University