Nature’s Classroom

Explore and discover the natural world at Nature’s Classroom! With free and low-cost programs, Nature’s Classroom offers in-person and virtual activities, workshops, and classes to learn about nature in fun ways! For more information, contact Maria Contreras at mcontreras@waukeganparks.org or (847) 360-4708.

Outdoor Escape Program

Welcome to Outdoor Escape! Enjoy seven weeks at Nature’s Classroom. This outdoor half day camp meets five times a week for children to venture into nature! Have fun with nature projects and experiments. Enjoy Bevier Park amenities and play sports like tennis, basketball, frisbee, fishing and more! Please dress for weather. Apply sunblock and bug spray before program.

Program Dates Fee*  Registration
Session 1 Monday, June 13, 2022 to Friday, June 17, 2022 $80/$90 Closed
Session 2 Tuesday, June 21, 2022 to Friday, June 24, 2022 $64/$74 Canceled
Session 3 Monday, June 27, 2022 to Friday, July 1, 2022 $80/$90 Register Here
Session 4 Tuesday, July 5, 2022 to Friday, July 8, 2022 $64/$74 Register Here
Session 5 Monday, July 11, 2022 to Friday, July 15, 2022 $80/$90 Register Here
Session 6 Monday, July 18, 2022 to Friday, July 22, 2022 $80/$90 Register Here
Session 7 Monday, July 25, 2022 to Friday, July 28, 2022 $80/$90 Register Here

 

Click Here to Register

World of Discovery Programs

These nature programs provide a special place for children and families to explore and discover the natural world. Instill a lifelong love growing and care for living things and appreciation for the environment in a playful and informal setting for children and families. These are programs held inside and outside. Dressing for the weather is highly encouraged. Classes are on Tuesday mornings. Some programs include a fee.

Program Dates Fee*  Registration
Little Hikers Tuesday, June 14, 2022 Free Closed
Hummingbird and Butterfly Feeder! Tuesday, June 21, 2022 $4/$6 Register Here
Painting in the Park Tuesday, June 28, 2022 Free Register Here
Leaf Flower Press Tuesday, July 5, 2022 Free Register Here
Bubbleology Tuesday, July 12, 2022 $5/$7 Register Here
Make Your Own Butterfly Garden Tuesday, July 19, 2022 Free Register Here
Tree Cookies Tuesday, July 26, 2022 $4/$6 Register Here

*Resident and nonresident fees are listed in the following order: Resident Fee/Nonresident Fee.

Make-It-Take-It Programs

Program Dates Fee*  Registration
Make-It-Take-It Bouncy Ball Friday, June 17, 2022 $6/$8 Closed
Make-It-Take-It Galaxy Bottles Friday, July 8, 2022 $6/$8 Register Here
Make-It-Take-It Flower Pot Friday, July 22, 2022 $6/$8 Register Here
Make-It-Take-It Lantern Friday, August 1, 2022 $6/$8 Register Here

*Resident and nonresident fees are listed in the following order: Resident Fee/Nonresident Fee.

Eco-Explorers Programs

Children love being real explorers and getting to know nature’s secrets. Come adventure into our back yard to learn and explore the natural environment through games, craft projects, and nature-based activities. Enjoy several weeks of programming with a different theme each time. Register for one or all of the classes. Each program attended will result in an Eco-Explorer certificate of learning. Insect repellent is advised. Parents are welcome to come along and be involved. Preregistration is required for all classes.

Program Dates Fee*  Registration
Experimentation Monday, June 27, 2022 $4/$6 Register Here
Ocean Exploration! Monday, July 11, 2022 $4/$6 Register Here
Water Cycle Monday, July 18, 2022 $4/$6 Register Here
Microscopic Creatures in Water Monday, July 25, 2022 Free Register Here

*Resident and nonresident fees are listed in the following order: Resident Fee/Nonresident Fee.

Address:

2255 Yorkhouse Rd
Waukegan, IL 60085