Summer Camps

Summer Camps

Registration for the Waukegan Park District’s full-day summer camps is open. Full-day summer camps will be offered on weekdays from 9am to 4pm starting Monday, June 6, 2022 and ending Friday, August 5, 2022. Open to children from six to twelve years of age, the summer camps will engage children in safe and enriching activities, including arts, crafts, sports, explorations, and more.

The Waukegan Park District will be offering the following full-day summer camps in 2022:

  • Belvidere Explorers at the Belvidere Recreation Center, 412 S. Lewis Avenue
  • Bowen Park Rangers at the Jane Addams Center, 95 Jack Benny Drive

Participants can be registered at the Belvidere Recreation Center.  A registration packet must be submitted for every participant. Additionally, a non-refundable $30 deposit per session is required to make a camp reservation and the remaining balance is due two weeks prior to the session’s start date. NOTE: A child is not officially enrolled until a $30 deposit AND a camp packet has been submitted to Julia Sanchez (jrsanchez@waukeganparks.org) at least two weeks prior to the start date.

Belvidere Explorers

Belvidere Explorers Registration Packet

Session # Dates Fee
Session 1 Monday, June 6, 2022 to Friday, June 10, 2022 $139/$165
Session 2 Monday, June 13, 2022 to Friday, June 17, 2022 $139/$165
Session 3* Tuesday, June 21, 2022 to Friday, June 24, 2022 $129/$155
Session 4 Tuesday, June 27, 2022 to Friday, July 27, 2022 $139/$165
Session 5* Tuesday, July 5, 2022 to Friday, July 8, 2022 $129/$155
Session 6 Monday, July 11, 2022 to Friday, July 15, 2022 $139/$165
Session 7 Monday, July 18, 2022 to Friday, July 22, 2022 $139/$165
Session 8 Monday, July 25, 2022 to Friday, July 29, 2022 $139/$165
Session 9 Monday, August 1, 2022 to Friday, August 5, 2022 $139/$165

*Summer camps will not be in session on Monday, June 20, 2022, in observance of Juneteenth, and Monday, July 4, 2022, in observance of American Independence Day.

Bowen Park Rangers

Bower Park Rangers Registration Packet

Session # Dates Fee
Session 1 Monday, June 6, 2022 to Friday, June 10, 2022 $139/$165
Session 2 Monday, June 13, 2022 to Friday, June 17, 2022 $139/$165
Session 3* Tuesday, June 21, 2022 to Friday, June 24, 2022 $129/$155
Session 4 Tuesday, June 27, 2022 to Friday, July 27, 2022 $139/$165
Session 5* Tuesday, July 5, 2022 to Friday, July 8, 2022 $129/$155
Session 6 Monday, July 11, 2022 to Friday, July 15, 2022 $139/$165
Session 7 Monday, July 18, 2022 to Friday, July 22, 2022 $139/$165
Session 8 Monday, July 25, 2022 to Friday, July 29, 2022 $139/$165
Session 9 Monday, August 1, 2022 to Friday, August 5, 2022 $139/$165

*Summer camps will not be in session on Monday, June 20, 2022, in observance of Juneteenth, and Monday, July 4, 2022, in observance of American Independence Day.

Before Care from 7am to 9am and After Care from 4pm to 6pm will be available for an additional fee. The Waukegan Park District accepts third-party funding from other organizations, such as YWCA and Mother’s Trust Foundation, and has financial assistance available.